Helping Injured Workers And Their Families Obtain Fair Benefits

If you or a loved one has suffered a life-altering or fatal injury at work, it is critical that you receive the full benefits offered for the injury. Unfortunately, it can be difficult to assess the value of a claim if you are not familiar with the Arizona laws that determine the benefit rate.

When permanently disabled workers or dependents need answer for their benefits' questions, they contact Matt Fendon Law Group. Our lawyers are well-versed in state compensation requirements, having represented thousands of Arizonans struggling with life-changing injuries.

We are recognized throughout Arizona for our excellent client service and determination to get fair compensation for injured workers and their loved ones. Contact us today at 800-229-3880 to discuss your case at no charge.

Understanding Permanent Disability Benefits

In Arizona, permanent disability injuries are divided into two groups: unscheduled injuries and scheduled injuries.

The state's Industrial Commission reviews claims to determine compensation amounts for unscheduled injuries, a category that includes occupational diseases and injuries to the shoulder, hip or back.

Factors that influence the benefits awarded for unscheduled injuries include:

  • Injured worker's level of education
  • Former occupations
  • Injured worker's age
  • The injury's impact on the worker's job capabilities

Scheduled injuries refer to injuries to body parts that include the leg, foot, arm, hand and eye. Workers who have suffered partial loss of a body part are entitled to receive half of their wages earned in a month. Workers who are impaired as a result of a complete loss or amputation are entitled to receive 55 percent of their monthly income. Workers who are unable to return to work may receive higher compensation benefits.

Dependent's Benefits Available To Dependents

Dependents are also eligible to receive survivor benefits in the event of a fatal workplace injury. If you are the child or spouse of a worker who died as a result of a work-related accident, you may be entitled to receive funeral expenses and up to 66 2/3 percent of the average monthly wages of your deceased loved one.

  • Children of the deceased worker are entitled to receive benefits until they are 18. They may continue to receive benefits until age 22 if enrolled in school full-time.
  • Spouses are entitled to receive survivor benefits for life, unless the surviving spouse remarries.
  • In certain circumstances, parents and siblings can qualify to receive survivor benefits if they are able to establish dependency.

It can be complex to handle a permanent disability or survivor's benefit claim alone, which is why you should reach out to us.

Are You Concerned About Your Claim?

Get answers and the legal support you need by consulting with our team. We have offices throughout the state and are ready to help. To contact our attorneys in Phoenix, Flagstaff, Tucson or Prescott Valley, please email or call 800-229-3880. Habla Español.