What Happens When I Am at My Job for Less Than 30 Days and I’m Injured at Work?
If you’re injured on the job in Arizona, the presumptive period for which your wages should be set for workers’ comp benefits is the 30 days before the accident. When you are on workers’ comp benefits in Arizona, you receive 66-2/3 percent of your average monthly wage in disability benefits if you are unable to work. That is why it is important that your average monthly wage is set correctly.
If you have worked at your employment for less than 30 days in Flagstaff for example, there are incomplete wage patterns for an insurance claims adjuster to determine what your wage is. Therefore, the Industrial Commission and claims adjusters are supposed to look for “similarly situated” employees to determine what your wage should be. These are employees that do your job with your employer, or a similar job.
Again, it is crucial to make sure that your Arizona average monthly wage is set correctly because it affects the amount of compensation you receive for the life of the claim. If you are injured on the job in Arizona, you should contact Fendon Law Firm for a free consultation to determine whether your average monthly wage was set correctly.
In addition to Phoenix and Flagstaff, we have offices in Prescott, and Tucson. We are the largest family owned and operated workers’ compensation and Social Security Disability law firm in the state of Arizona. Please feel free to call us for a free consultation.